Polar coordinates

In mathematics, the polar coordinate system is a two-dimensional coordinate system in which each point on a plane is determined by a distance from a reference point and an angle from a reference direction.

Polar coordinates are most appropriate in any context where the phenomenon being considered is inherently tied to direction and length from a center point in a plane, such as spirals Planar physical systems with bodies moving around a central point, or phenomena originating from a central point, are often simpler and more intuitive to model using polar coordinates.

I feel polar coordinates relate to something I am trying to communicate around the theme of like moments and instances. I’ll see like centre points as being connection between two other points.

I think i’ll try and develop this into creating a 3-D model of a flower.

I found this really interesting article around parallel coordinate art. That’s about creating art from data and manipulating a method of parallel coordinates where you can visualise changing data. I liked how some of these pieces looked like flowers but the issue I do see is it’s not three-dimensional and that is something I think is critical in this for my piece.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started